Membranes

Kachel Coatema Membran nB

Membrane filtration is a modern filtration method. In particular, it is used in gas and liquid processing. The mass flow, running across the filter, is typical for membrane filtration.

It means that a composite structure that enables good mass transfer through a corresponding layer (usually non-woven) is required. The required separation of substances can then take place on a large-scale through the actual membrane.

This technology enables the selective restriction of the particle size to the separated. The separation of particles sized from 0.5 – 0.1 µm is called microfiltration; the separation of particles from 0.1 – 0.01 µm is ultrafiltration and the separation of particles from 0.01 – 0.001 µm (10 – 1 nm) is nanofiltration.

The separation of particles sized between 1 and 0.1 is called reverse osmosis. In this case, there is no longer any separation of undissolved particles, since molecular dimensions have already been reached and only dissolved particles are retained.

The application areas for membranes are extremely varied. Many production plants for membrane production delivered by Coatema are used in the fields of reverse osmosis, nanofiltration and proton conductive membranes.

Special developments for gas filtration and fuel cell membranes also form part of Coatema's core business. In particular, this includes the casting of membranes onto carrier films and the capillary coating of metal foams.

The cleaning of water to produce drinking water is becoming increasingly important due to a rising population. Reverse osmosis is used here. The only way to manufacture the filter membranes required for this with large enough surfaces, sufficient productivity and reasonable costs is using a Roll-to-Roll method. Coatema supplies the complex production plants for this, which include the conditioning of surface/pore structures using a dip bath and the casting of polymer solutions onto surfaces using slot dies. These plants use multiple process steps to create composite materials that are normally multi-layered and that have the required structural accuracy.

To receive detailed quotations, please contact our project planning team at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or your local Coatema agent.

 

Scale-up process

Coatema has various pilot plants that are suitable for membrane production, including with functions for the post-treatment or surface modification of membranes. In addition, a range of cooperative partners from universities and research institutions use Coatema's laboratory and pilot plants. Coatema has a global network in this area.

 

Application areas

  • Reverse osmosis
  • Air filtration
  • Water filtration
  • Wastewater
  • Gas filtration

 

Photo story

 
 
 
 
Find us on Instagramm
Virtueller Rundgang Technikum
Follow Us

Membranen

Kachel Coatema Membran nB

Die Membranfiltration ist ein modernes Filtrationsverfahren. Sie wird insbesondere bei der Gas- und Flüssigkeitsaufbereitung eingesetzt. Typisch bei der Membranfiltration ist der quer zum Filter verlaufende Massestrom.

Hieraus resultiert die Notwendigkeit eines Verbundwerkstoffaufbaus, der zu einem guten Massetransport durch eine entsprechende Schicht – zumeist einem Non-woven – führt. Durch die eigentliche Membran kann dann großflächig die entsprechende Stoffauftrennung erfolgen.

Mit dieser Technik kann man gezielt die abzutrennende Partikelgröße einschränken. Partikelgrößen von 0,5 – 0,1 µm bezeichnet man als Mikrofiltration, Partikelgrößen von 0,1 – 0,01 µm als Ultrafiltration und Partikelgrößen von 0,01 – 0,001 µm, also 10 – 1 nm, als Nanofiltration.

Bei der Trennung von Partikelgrößen von 1 – 0,1 nm spricht man von Umkehrosmose. Hierbei erfolgt keine Abtrennung ungelöster Partikel mehr, da die Dimension der Moleküle erreicht ist und nur gelöste Teilchen zurückgehalten werden.

Damit sind die Anwendungsbereiche für Membrane sehr vielseitig. Viele der von Coatema gelieferten Produktionsanlagen für die Membranherstellung werden im Bereich der Umkehrosmose, Nanofiltration oder auch als protonenleitfähige Membranen eingesetzt.

Ebenso gehören Sonderentwicklungen für Gasfiltration und Brennstoffzellenmembrane zum Kerngeschäft von Coatema, hier insbesondere das Gießen von Membranen auf Trägerfolien und das kapillare Beschichten von Metallschäumen.

Die Reinigung von Wasser zur Herstellung von Trinkwasser gewinnt mit steigender Bevölkerungszahl an zunehmend zentraler Bedeutung. Hierbei wird die Umkehrosmose eingesetzt. Die hierzu benötigten Filtermembranen können nur im Rolle-zu-Rolle-Verfahren in den benötigten großen Flächen mit hinreichender Produktivität und zu vertretbaren Kosten hergestellt werden. Coatema liefert hierbei die komplexen Produktionsanlagen, die das Konditionieren von Oberflächen- oder Porenstrukturen durch Tauchbäder und das Gießen von polymeren Lösungen mit Breitschlitzdüsen auf Oberflächen beinhalten. Auf diesen Anlagen werden in mehreren Prozessschritten die zumeist mehrschichtigen Verbundwerkstoffe mit der benötigten Genauigkeit der Strukturen hergestellt.

Gerne können Sie detaillierte Angebote bei unserem Projektierungsteam unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein! anfragen.

 

Scale-up-Prozess

Coatema verfügt über unterschiedliche, für die Membranherstellung geeignete Pilotanlagen, auch mit Funktionen für die Nachbehandlung oder Oberflächenmodifikation von Membranen. Weiterhin hat eine Vielzahl von Kooperationspartnern aus dem universitären oder Forschungsbereich Coatema-Labor- und Pilotanlagensysteme im Einsatz. Hier verfügt die Coatema über ein weltweites Netzwerk.

 

 

Anwendungsgebiete

  • Reverse Osmosis
  • Luftfiltration
  • Wasserfiltration
  • Abwasser
  • Gasfiltration

 

Fotostory

 
 
 
 
Find us on Instagramm
Virtueller Rundgang Technikum
Follow Us