Prepreg and composite materials

Kachel Coatema Preprep nB

Coatema offers innovative plant concepts for the coating of composite materials with duroplastic and thermoplastic adhesives. Here, Coatema develops extremely successful high-temperature applications in the field of thermoplastic applications.

Today, the use of coated products for prepregs is growing rapidly. This increasing demand has motivated Coatema to develop new, highly innovative plant concepts for impregnation and coating. The unique designs of the powerful coating technologies and the effective processing of the fibre materials of the prepreg products involve a range of mechanical and technical challenges and attest to the plant design innovation and engineering know-how of Coatema.

Prepregs are pre-impregnated fibres with tailor-made properties. They bring benefits such as high strength, high tension force, low material densities, corrosion resistance, high vibration resistance, low heat elongation, low weight, really low material fatigue, easy on-site installation and low maintenance costs.

Coatema has successfully supported our customers in light of the increasing demand for fibre-reinforced plastics with highly innovative machine concepts for the manufacture of prepreg products. Our flexible, multifunctional coating plants enable the ideal processing of fibre materials/substrates and the production of diverse prepreg products from rovings, textiles and multiaxial structures.

As a rule, the necessary machine concept here includes the application of epoxy resin or phenolic resin to diverse types of substrate. Depending on the substrate structure, processing takes place as rovings with a thread frame or as textile sheeting material using roll unwinding. The following coating systems can be used here: Doctor blade, powder scattering method, slot dies, hotmelt slot dies and impregnation. These are available as modular coating heads that can be quickly changed, giving a high level of flexibility.

To receive detailed quotations, please contact our project planning team at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or your local Coatema agent.

 

Scale-up process

Coatema offers plants in the basic research field ranging from laboratory coaters to pilot plants and production machines for the production of semi-finished products for fibre-reinforced plastics. Coatema can process diverse base products with our coating plants. Generally, these are based on carbon, glass, Kevlar® and synthetic fibres.

The substrates to be processed take many different forms such as rovings, woven fabric and uni/bi/multidirectional fibre structures or even products that have multiple orientations in accordance with the required direction of force in the final application. For the various prepreg products, we offer plants with working widths ranging from DIN A4 to 2,000 mm in the R2R field.

 

Technologies

Technical data for duroplastic materials

Coating quantity range (both sides)
10 300 g/m2

Viscosity
100 50,000 mPas

Temperature
40 250°C; standard: 60 120°C

Speed (for different processes)
Ø 50 – 80 m/min for film coating
Ø 5 – 15 m/min for coating/lamination combinations
Ø 5 – 25 m/min for impregnation

Coating systems
Doctor blade, heated rollers, Foulard

 

Coatema Knife rakel system RGB Coatema Heated roller system RGB Coatema Dipping system RGB
Doctor blade
Heated rollers Dip system / Foulard

 

 

Coating quantity range (both sides)
10 – 300 g/m2

Viscosity
100 – 200,000 mPas (depending on the coating/extruder technology)

Temperature
80 400°C

Speed (for different processes)
Ø 10 – 100 m/min for film coating
Ø 0.1 – 10 m/min for impregnation

Coating systems
Powder scattering, heated rollers, hotmelt/extruders

 

Coatema Powder scattering system RGB

Coatema Heated roller system RGB

Coatema Hot Melt system RGB

Powder scattering

Heated rollers

Hotmelt / extruders

 

Application areas

  • Lightweight automotive construction
  • Lightweight aircraft construction
  • Sports equipment

Application examples

 

Prepreg production plant for thermoplastic processes

Coatema Prepreg Line 03 TS

 

Prepreg production plant for duro-plastic processes

Coatema Prepreg Line 02 TP

 

Prepreg production plant for thermoplastic and duro-plastic processes

Coatema Prepreg Line 01 TSTP

Photo story

 

 
 
 
 
Find us on Instagramm
Virtueller Rundgang Technikum
Follow Us

Prepreg- & Composite-Materialien

Kachel Coatema Preprep nB

Coatema bietet innovative Anlagenkonzepte für die Beschichtung von Verbundwerkstoffen mit duroplastischen und thermoplastischen Klebstoffen. Hier entwickelt Coatema gerade im Bereich der thermoplastischen Applikationen sehr erfolgreiche Hochtemperaturanwendungen.

Heutzutage wächst der Gebrauch von beschichteten Produkten für Prepreg rapide. Diese steigende Nachfrage veranlasste Coatema zur Entwicklung von neuen und hoch innovativen Anlagenkonzepten für Imprägnierung und Beschichtung. Die einzigartigen Konzeptionen der leistungsstarken Beschichtungstechnologien und die effektive Bearbeitung der Fasermaterialien der Prepreg-Produkte beinhalten eine Reihe von mechanischen und technischen Herausforderungen und beweisen die innovative Anlagenkonzeption und das ingenieurwissenschaftliche Know-how bei Coatema.

Prepreg sind vorimprägnierte Fasern, die maßgeschneiderte Eigenschaften erfüllen können. Vorteile des Auftrags sind die überragende Festigkeit, hohe Zugkraft, geringe Materialdichte, Korrosionswiderstandsfähigkeit, hohe Vibrationswiderstandsfähigkeit, geringe Hitzedehnung, geringes Gewicht, außergewöhnlich geringe Materialermüdung, einfache Vor-Ort-Installation, geringe Wartungskosten.

Wir haben unsere Kunden mit hochinnovativen Maschinenkonzepten zur Herstellung von Prepreg-Produkten bei der steigenden Nachfrage nach faserverstärkten Kunststoffen erfolgreich unterstützt. Unsere flexiblen und multifunktionalen Beschichtungsanlagen ermöglichen die ideale Verarbeitung der Fasermaterialien bzw. Substrate und die Herstellung verschiedenster Prepreg-Produkte aus Rovings, Textilien und multiaxialen Strukturen.

Ein entsprechend notwendiges Maschinenkonzept beinhaltet grundsätzlich den Auftrag von Epoxydharz bzw. Phenolharz auf verschiedenste Arten von Substraten. Je nach Substratstruktur erfolgt die Verarbeitung als Roving mittels Fadengatter oder als Flächengebilde mittels Rollenabwicklung. Als einsetzbare Auftragssysteme sind hier zu nennen: Rakel, Pulverstreuverfahren, Breitschlitzdüsen, Hotmelt-Breitschlitzdüsen und Imprägnierung. Diese stehen Ihnen als modulare und schnell austauschbare Auftragsköpfe zur Verfügung, wodurch ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität gewährleistet ist.

Gerne können Sie detaillierte Angebote bei unserem Projektierungsteam unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein! anfragen.

 

Scale-up-Prozess

Coatema offeriert Anlagen im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung, über den Laborcoater zur Pilotanlage bis hin zur Fertigungsanlage für die Herstellung von Halbzeugen für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe. Coatema ist in der Lage, verschiedenste Ausgangsprodukte mit ihren Beschichtungsanlagen zu verarbeiten. Hauptsächlich basieren diese auf Carbon-, Glas-, Kevlar®- sowie Kunstfasern.

Die zu verarbeitenden Substrate kommen in den unterschiedlichsten Aufmachungen vor, als Roving sowie Gewebe, uni-, bi- und multidirektionale Faserkonstruktionen oder auch als Produkte, die mehrere Orientierungen aufweisen gemäß der in der Endanwendung benötigten Kraftausrichtung. Für die unterschiedlichen Prepreg-Produkte werden Anlagen in Arbeitsbreiten von DIN A4 bis hin zu 2 000 mm im R2R-Bereich angeboten.

 

Technologien

Technische Daten für duroplastische Materialien

Bandbreite der Beschichtungsmenge (beidseitig)
10 – 300 g/m2

Viskosität
100 – 50 000 mPas

Temperatur
40 – 250 °C, Standard: 60 – 120°C

Geschwindigkeit (für verschiedene Prozesse)
Ø 50 – 80 m/min für Folienbeschichtung
Ø 5 – 15 m/min für Beschichtungs- und Laminierungskombination
Ø 5 – 25 m/min für Imprägnierung

Auftragssysteme
Rakel, beheizte Walzen, Foulard

 

Coatema Knife rakel system RGB Coatema Heated roller system RGB Coatema Dipping system RGB
Rakelsystem beheizte Walzen Tauchsystem / Foulard

 

 

Technische Daten für thermoplastische Materialien

Bandbreite der Beschichtungsmenge (beidseitig)
10 – 300 g/m2

Viskosität
100 – 200 000 mPas (abhängig von Beschichtungs-, bzw. Extrudertechnologie)

Temperatur
80 – 400 °C

Geschwindigkeit (für verschiedene Prozesse)
Ø 10 – 100 m/min für Folienbeschichtung
Ø 0,1 – 10 m/min für Imprägnierung

Auftragssysteme
Puderstreuer, beheizte Walzen, Hotmelt/Extruder

 

Coatema Powder scattering system RGB

Coatema Heated roller system RGB

Coatema Hot Melt system RGB

Puderstreuer

beheizte Walzen

Hotmelt/Extruder

 

Anwendungsgebiete

  • Automobil-Leichtbau
  • Flugzeug-Leichtbau
  • Sportgeräte

Anwendungsbeispiele

Prepreg Produktionsanlage für thermoplastische Prozesse

Coatema Prepreg Line 03 TS

 

 

Prepreg Produktionsanlage für duroplastische Prozesse

Coatema Prepreg Line 02 TP

 

 

Prepreg Produktionsanlage für thermo- und duroplastische Prozesse

Coatema Prepreg Line 01 TSTP

Fotostory

 

 
 
 
 
Find us on Instagramm
Virtueller Rundgang Technikum
Follow Us